Derek Vaughan MEP

Working hard for Wales in Europe

About Derek

Derek Vaughan was elected as Labour Party Member of the European Parliament for Wales in June 2009 and has been a member of the Labour Party for 29 years.

Derek Vaughan MEP


Derek was elected as Labour Party Member of the European Parliament for Wales in June 2009 and was re-elected in May 2014. Derek is a very active Member of Parliament, attending more than 98% of Plenary Sessions. He is the First Vice-Chair of the Committee on Budgetary Control, the Committee that controls the EU Budget and a member of the Committee on Regional Development where he works to secure funding for regions like Wales.

He also holds numerous other posts including being on the Delegation for relations with Australia and New Zealand as well as being Chair of the European Parliament Rugby Union Intergroup and Chair of the Friends of New Zealand Group.

Derek was born in Merthyr Tydfil on 2nd May 1961. He lived in Aberfan for most of his early life, moving to Neath in 1984.

He was educated at Afon Taf High School and later at Swansea University, where he gained an Honours Degree in Politics and History.

Derek became an engineering apprentice at Hoover Limited in Merthyr Tydfil after leaving school. From there he went on to work in the Valuation Office Agency.  He took three years sabbatical from work to undertake his degree at Swansea University.  After completing his degree he went back to the Valuation Office Agency for a short time before working full time for the PCS Trade Union.  He worked in this job until being elected Leader of Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council.

Derek has been a long serving member of the Labour Party. He has held a number of positions in his Ward and Constituency Party. In the mid-1980’s he was elected to Neath Town Council and became Mayor of the Town Council.  In 1995 he was elected to the shadow Neath Port Talbot Council as the Member for Neath North.

As a Councillor on Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council he has held a number of positions, including Cabinet Member for Economic Development.  Following the elections in June 2004 he became Leader of the Council. In 2005 he became Leader of the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) and since the 2008 election Deputy Leader.

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.